Key To Structural Integration

Pelvic stabilization techniques should be a routine part of any manual therapy protocol, prior to dealing with chronic pain in any other part of the body.  The goal is to ensure that the client achieves a balance between five basic muscle groups.  This means that each muscle group has the ability to release to the full range of motion on both the left and right sides, and balance is achieved in the hip and back areas.

The specific order for releasing and balancing muscle groups in the 12-Step Approach to pelvic stabilization is as follows:

1.  Psoas major, iliacus, and joint capsule

2.  Quadratus lumborum and erector spinae

3.  Lateral or medial hip rotators and adductors

4.  Quadriceps, gluteus maximus, tensor fascia latae, and ITB

5.  Hamstrings